Winners of the Laka Competition ’15
Architecture that Reacts.

The first edition gathered over 100 submissions and nearly 200 participants from 5 continents and 30 countries!

Main Prizes

Laka Reacts - 1st Place

1st Prize: Calvin Fung. Research with Victor Huynh. (Canada)

2nd Prize: Joseph Mwaisaka (Pakistan)

3rd Prize: Sungwhan Kang (South Korea)

Honourable Mentions


Mutualistic Soundscape


The DorzeHouse 2.0

Tour Moustic

Capillary Action

Warm Souvenirs


Common Ground

Surface on Demand

The International Panel of Judges

Maria Aiolova

(Architect, Educator, LEED AP, Assoc. AIA)
Co-Founder of Terreform ONE. Her work is focused on the theory, science and application of ecological design. She has been a visiting lecturer and critic at Harvard GSD, Columbia University, Cornell University, CUNY and many more. She is an inventor, who holds 18 technology patents.

Marc Fornes

(Architect DPLG, Educator)
Founder of THEVERYMANY™. His studio engages Art and Architecture through the filter of systematic research and development into applied Computer Science and Digital Fabrication.

Chris Bosse

(Architect, Educator)
Co-Founder of LAVA. He explores frontiers that merge future technologies with the patterns of organisation found in nature. He won an Emerging Architect Award from RIBA in 2008 London and a 40 Under 40 Award in 2012.

Piotr Kuczia

Peter Kuczia

(Ph.D., IARP and BAK Architect, Educator)
Author of CO2 Saver House. Educator and expert in ecological constructions with more than 20 years of experience. Author of “Educating Buildings – Learning Sustainability through Displayed Design”.

Guy Hoffman

(Ph.D, Roboticist)
Co-director of IDC Media Innovation Lab. He heads the Human-Robot Interaction (HRI) group, focusing on human-robot collaboration and companionship, nonverbal behavior in HRI, robotics for the performing arts, and non-anthropomorphic robot design.

Dave Pigram

(Designer, Researcher, Educator)
Co-director of SUPERMANOEUVRE. He co-founded the International Fabrication Robotics Network; has been project director for Studio Daniel Libeskind, a visiting researcher at ETH Zurich and MIT Media Lab; Visiting Professor of Practice at the University of Michigan and is Senior Lecturer at the University of Technology, Sydney.

Giacomo Costa

(Artist, Photographer)
Author of The Chronicles of Time. He fuses traditional photography and digital technologies. Known from his artistic visions of cities which redefine our idea of the metropolis through fantastic cityscapes

The Jury formed by leaders in the fields of architecture and design selected 3 winners (total 5000 USD) and 10 honourable mentions.