Results of the Laka Competition ’19
Architecture that Reacts

More than 350 participants from 40 countries. Over 200 entries were given thorough consideration by the international panel of Judges. Many thanks to all participants, members of the jury, partners, and media partners!

Winner for the year 2019:

The Ark

Main prizes:



The Desalination Generation

Honorable mentions:


Regen Pods




Worm Space

Two Pieces and a Rubber Band


Breaking the 4th Wall

The Rebirth of Karez: Oasis Plan

350 Participants from 40 countries

International Jury

Claudia Pasquero

(architect, researcher, lecturer, cofounder of ecoLogicStudio)
Claudia graduated from Turin Polytechnic in 2000, and completed the AA EE Master Program, she is the cofounder of ecoLogicStudio. She has working experience as an architect in international offices such as Ushida Findlay Partnership and Erick van Egeraat Architects. Claudia took part in the London and Venice Architectural Biennale with an installation called STEM and is codirector of Fibrous Structures Project. She has been teaching and lecturing internationally including East London University, Turin Polytechnic, The Kingston University (London), UDLA (Puebla, Mexico City), IAAC (Barcelona), ITU (Istanbul), Bilgi University (Istanbul) and others; she is currently Unit Master of Inter10 at the Architectural Association School of Architecture London.

David Benjamin

(founder and principal of The Living, professor at Columbia GSAPP)
David is Founding Principal of The Living, an Autodesk Studio. Before receiving a Master of Architecture from Columbia, he received a Bachelor of Arts from Harvard. The laureate of awards such as Architectural League, the American Institute of Architects, Architizer, the Museum of Modern Art, New York Foundation for the Arts, Fast Company, and Holcim. Recent projects of The Living have included Project Discover (generative design for architecture), the Airbus Bionic Partition (bionic algorithms and generative design for manufacturing), and Hy-Fi (new biomaterials for architecture). David teaches at Columbia Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation.

Daan Roosegaarde

(artist, innovator, founder of Studio Roosegaarde)
Artist and innovator, founder of Studio Roosegaarde. Daan studied Fine Arts and graduated from The Berlage Institute in Rotterdam with a Master in architecture. He founded Studio Roosegaarde in 2007. He is a professor at the University of Monterrey in Mexico, advisor for Design Singapore Council, ambassador of the Science Weekend, visiting professor at Tongji University Shanghai, and a member of the NASA Innovation team. The recipient of numerous awards including the Shenzhen Global Design Award, Beijing Design Project of the Year Dezeen Award, London Design Innovation Medal, D&AD Awards 2017, China’s Most Successful Design Award, and more. He has exhibited among others at the Design Museum London, Tate Modern, Tokyo National Museum, and Victoria & Albert Museum.

Emma van der Leest

(biodesigner, product designer, founder of the BlueCity lab)
Biodesigner, the founder and creative director of the BlueCity Lab; and an alumna of the Willem de Kooning Academy in Rotterdam (Class of 2015). She interned at Biocouture London, the world’s first bio-creative consultancy. Emma is a freelance lecturer at the Willem de Kooning Academy and the Design Academy in Eindhoven. Although trained as a product designer, Emma’s fascination with biodesign has led her to collaborate with scientists to grow new materials out of living organisms.

Elizabeth Monoian

(artist, founding director of LAGI, cofounder of Studied Impact)
Artist and designer (MFA Carnegie Mellon University). She is the founding codirector and executive director of the Land Art Generator Initiative. Under her leadership, LAGI has received multiple National Endowment for the Arts grants and has been awarded the J.M.K. Innovation Prize, a program of the J.M. Kaplan Fund. She is also the founder and director of the Society for Cultural Exchange. Elizabeth has published, exhibited, and presented globally on the aesthetics of renewable energy and the role of art in providing solutions to climate change. Furthermore, she works closely with cities, universities, corporations, arts organizations, and community groups to design customized approaches to renewable energy installations.

Robert Ferry

(architect, founding director of LAGI and Studied Impact)
Architect and LEED-accredited professional (B.Arch. Carnegie Mellon University). Alongside Elizabeth Monoian, he cofounded the Land Art Generator Initiative—one of the world’s most followed sustainable design competitions—as well as Studied Impact—an environmentally conscious architecture and design firm. Following a decade of design and project management on sustainable new urbanist developments in the United States, Robert spent four years as a consultant on large commercial projects in Abu Dhabi, where his focus shifted to ways in which buildings can move beyond net-zero and contribute to the energy needs of the surrounding city.

Dr. Peter Kuczia

(architect, initiator and curator of the ‘Design that Educates Awards’)
Educator and expert in ecological constructions with more than twenty years of experience. In 2008, he defended his Ph.D. dissertation on solar architecture in Germany. Author of ‘Educating Buildings – Learning Sustainability through Displayed Design’. He has been awarded multiple international prizes, including International Design Award (US), Iconic Award (DE), DNA Paris Design Awards (FR), LICC London Creative Competition (UK), German Design Award (DE), a national nomination to the MIES VAN DER ROHE AWARD for European Architecture, and many others. His work, which covers a wide range of building types, has been exhibited and published around the world. Jury member in international competitions and initiator and curator of the Design that Educates Awards.

Details of the Laka Competition 2020 will be announced during August 2020!

About (Archive)

Laka invites everyone interested in the mission of the competition to submit their ideas. The subject of the competition is architectural, urban, technological, or product design that is capable of dynamic interaction with its social, natural, or built surroundings. Achieving such a goal requires an interdisciplinary approach that often goes beyond typical solutions. The participants are free to decide the project’s location, scale, size, and program.


Awards (Archive)

Main prizes and honorable mentions will be selected. The winner for the year 2019 and the laureates of the main prizes will be awarded additional cash prizes and invited to present their projects during the ‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference at the Solarlux Campus (Germany) on April 23–24, 2020. Laureates of all recognitions will be presented on Laka’s websites, promoted via Laka’s network of partners, and included in future publications related to the competition ‘Architecture that Reacts.’

Register Now
Timeline (Archive)

Registration opens in June 2019
Early Registration until August 1, 2019
Regular Registration until November 1, 2019
Late Registration until December 17, 2019
Project submission deadline: December 20, 2019
Jury deliberation: January 2020
Winners’ announcement: February 1, 2020
‘Architecture in Foyer 2020’ conference: April 23–24, 2020
UTC time zone for all dates.

GuidelinesContact Us