Join Laka Competition ’20
Design that Reacts.

Submit your responsive and interactive designs.

Designthatreacts2020 Monika Kalinowska&denys Karandiuk Thumbnail1


The subject of the competition is a design that is capable of dynamic interaction with its social, natural, or built surroundings. The main focus of the competition is on solutions developed through a process of changes and adjustments. Previous entries often took advantages from disciplines such as robotics, mechanics, digital fabrication, biodesign, and more. The participants are free to decide the project’s location, scale, size, and program.

Join now
Designthatreacts2020 Monika Kalinowska&denys Karandiuk Thumbnail2


Main prizes and honorable mentions will be selected. The 3 main prizes of each phase will be nominated for the Design that Educates Awards 2021 (DtEA, in the category of Responsive Design
), presented on website of the Laka Competition, mentioned on the social media channels of the DtEA, and invited to present their designs during initiatives the Laka Perspectives. Laureates of main prizes and honorable mentions will receive the certificates and winning labels.

Designthatreacts2020 Monika Kalinowska&denys Karandiuk Thumbnail3


Registration opens in August 2020

The submission of designs is available all year round. The competition into phases. The winners are selected each month. You can select the phase you want to join (and join more phases with the same or with different projects). Each phase has its separate panel of juries and timeline. From each phase the laureates will be selected and promoted on the channels of Laka Foundation.

Contact us

Schedule of Laka 2020 (phase 01)

Registration started in August 2020


Registration until September 15, 2020


Submission deadline: September 16, 2020


Jury deliberation: September 2020


Winners’ announcement: November 1, 2020

Join now

Jury 2020 – to be announced

Dr. Peter Kuczia (architect, initiator and curator of the ‘Design that Educates Awards’)
Educator and expert in ecological constructions with more than twenty years of experience. In 2008, he defended his Ph.D. dissertation on solar architecture in Germany. Author of ‘Educating Buildings – Learning Sustainability through Displayed Design’. He has been awarded multiple international prizes, including International Design Award (US), Iconic Award (DE), DNA Paris Design Awards (FR), LICC London Creative Competition (UK), German Design Award (DE), a national nomination to the MIES VAN DER ROHE AWARD for European Architecture, and many others. His work, which covers a wide range of building types, has been exhibited and published around the world. Jury member in international competitions and initiator and curator of the Design that Educates Awards.

Jury of the previous editions, among others:

Emma van der Leest (biodesigner, product designer, founder of the BlueCity lab)

Daan Roosegaarde (artist, innovator, founder of Studio Roosegaarde)

Elizabeth Monoian (artist, founding director of LAGI, cofounder of Studied Impact)

Robert Ferry (architect, founding director of LAGI and Studied Impact)

Maria Aiolova (Architect, Educator, LEED AP, Assoc. AIA)

Hani Rashid (Architect, Co-founder of Asymptote, Head of Studio_Hani Rashid)

Paul Clemens Bart (Architect, Designer, Co-founder of BART//BRATKE)

Marvin Bratke (Architect, Designer, Co-founder of BART//BRATKE)

Prof. Nathalie de Vries (Architect, Urban Planner, Co-founder of MVRDV)

Qun Dang (Architect, Principal Partner at MAD Architects)

Arturo Vittori (Architect, Co-founder of Warka Water NGO, Director of Architecture and Vision)

Julien De Smedt (Architect, Founder of JDS Architects)

Prof. Alexander Rieck (Architect, Researcher, Co-Founder of LAVA Laboratory For Visionary Architecture)

Prof. Tobias Wallisser (Architect, Co-Founder of LAVA Laboratory For Visionary Architecture)

Prof. Chris Bosse (Architect, Co-Founder of LAVA Laboratory For Visionary Architecture)

Dr. Peter Kuczia (architect, initiator and curator of the Design that Educates Awards)

Thom Faulders (Architect, Founder of Faulders Studio)

Ana María Gutiérrez (Architect, Co-founder of Fundación Organizmo, Ashoka Fellow)


Entries will be evaluated based on the criteria of (1) overall idea and implementation; (2) an ability to respond to social, economic, or environmental changes; (3) the design’s level of social and environmental engagement; (4) a relationship to a specific social, natural, and built context; (5) the design’s level of flexibility and adaptability; (6) an innovative use of technology and sustainable systems; and (7) the design’s level of self-sufficiency.

Join now


Registration fees: students: 50 USD,  professionals: 100 USD. All registration fees and donations are spent on the further development of the awards. Thank you! The submission consists of: (1) JPG images of your design (up to 5 files), less than 10 MB in sum;
(2) A DOC file with the project statement (up to 500 words) and information about the authors; Save your submission as a ZIP file and send it via email (with “Laka Competition 2020 Entry” in the subject) to We will send you a confirmation of our receipt of the materials within 48 hours.



Laka Foundation is a non-profit organization and a worldwide network focused on social impact via design and architecture. In January 2018 Laka Foundation published a collection of interviews with experts of Laka’s network called “Laka Perspectives”, and launched new international competition (initiated by Dr. Peter Kuczia): The Design that Educates Awards. Join Laka Foundation’s newsletter. Follow us on social media channels: Facebook, LinkedIn, Instagram, #LakaCompetition #ArchitectureThatReacts

Contact us